Beauty · LIFE · STYLE

iD Fashion Week 2016

 

 

IMG_1151

Hello everyone!

A very exciting post for me to be writing today as it is about possibly one of the best experiences I have had as a make up artist so far!
I was lucky to be picked to be a part of the Revlon Make Up Team for the iD Fashion Week in Dunedin this year. I was working with an amazing bunch of people and learnt a lot about being back stage at an important event, having to work efficiently and quickly, helping out wherever I was needed.


DAY 1 – EMERGING DESIGNERS SHOW
Echo, Lily

This day was probably the hardest for me. The lighting we had was freaking terrible! You couldn’t see the models face very well so matching their colours was a lot harder than usual.
Also the look involved winged liner on all of the models – something which freaks me out a bit when it is on someone else’s face. I definitely had concealer on the go to clean up any mistakes I made!

For this show, the whole team was doing the same look on everyone. We did a soft cut crease with a wing, contour and a little bit of blush.
The models looked gorgeous and all of the girls I worked with were so lovely and great to chat to. I also had the opportunity to work on a mono lid – which I haven’t had too much experience with!


DAY 2 – iD SHOW OPENING NIGHT
Rebecca, Mariette, Courtney

On this day we had the first night of working with the ‘big name’ designers, such as Kate Sylvester, Zambesi, Tanya Carlson, Nom*D, etc.

For this we were split into three make up looks; Pretty, Alternative, and Young.
Each group had their own look to create on all of their models, designed by the Leading Make Up Artist Christal Allpress.
Revlon provided us with all of the make up we used, so each artist was provided with exactly what they needed to re create Christal’s look.

I received a cream blush, coloured glitter liners and cream eyeshadows, black liquid liner, eyeshadow palettes, foundation, a peach highlighting palette, and a peach lipstick.

IMG_1089.JPG

The look we got to create was so beautiful. We had a choice of doing either a bronze lid, or a bright blue/green lid. Up close the bronze shadow made the models’ eyes pop, but on the runway the blue looked amazing!

On this night I had an amazing experience, where I was touching up one of my model’s make up, and Kate Sylvester was checking it over! I was extremely nervous but she told me that it looked good – and wow. Such an incredible feeling!
I don’t think I have ever been prouder of a look I have done.

In the middle of the event we were able to go and watch the show for a little bit. It was so cool being able to see the models strutting the runway, and seeing your makeup on display. I was lucky enough to sit at a seat on the front row! Such an incredible experience.


DAY 3 – iD SHOW CLOSING NIGHT
Nicole, Mariette, Tyne

This day was pretty similar to the first night, except we only did the blue/green eyeshadow since it looked amazing on the runway.
It make it very easy to spot our models backstage when they needed touching up – saved a lot of time trying to find them!

Everything else about the makeup was the same, so it was nice to know what to expect, and also how much time we had to do it in.
These are some of the models that I did and I think they all look stunning in the blue shadow!

As this was the final day, we got to keep all the makeup we had already been given, and we also divided up the group makeup so we each had our share.
It was so cool to have such an amazing experience and be working for products.
Thank you so much Revlon!


MAKE UP LOOK: PRETTY
All products by Revlon

FACE
– 2-in-1 Colorstay Compact Makeup and Concealer
– Translucent setting powder
– Highlighing Palette [010 peach glow]
– Bronzer for contour [035 sun]
– Cream Blush [400 nude]

EYES
– Colorstay Eyebrow Liner [blonde/brunette]
– Colourstay Eyeshadow [585 sea mist]
– Photoready Eyeshadow [501 metropolitan]
– Photoready Eye Art [090 burnished bling/010 green glimmer]
– Dramaic Definition Mascara [black]

LIPS
– Colorstay Ultimate Suede [090 private viewing]


WHAT TO TAKE WITH YOU FOR AN EVENT

IMG_1088

Above is my personal set up that I had at the fashion show. I found that I had everything I needed here, probably too many brushes to be honest!
You are working with minimal space here so you have to be careful about what you take.

REMEMBER
– Brushes in a brush roll [for easy storage]
– Hair clips [to hold the model’s hair back]
– Makeup remover [for mistakes]
– Isopropyl Alcohol [disinfecting brushes in-between models]
– Hand sanitiser wipes [disinfect/clean hands in-between models]
– Paper towels [I place my dirty brushes on one of these and also use them when I spray the alcohol on them to clean my brushes]
– Disposable mascara wands/lipstick applicators
– Cotton buds/pads [clean up any mistakes]
– Water bottle [I take 2-3 depending on how long I’ll be there for]
– Camera [grab some photos for your portfolio. Make sure you have the models’ permission!]
– And of course, the make up you will need with you.


SOME OF MY MAKE UP LOOKS

Mariette

Olivia

Tyne

Rebecca

Shaeleigh

Courtney


MY FAVOURITE DRESS
Designer: Tanya Carlson
Model: Tyne

IMG_1224

This is a picture of the dress that I am absolutely in LOVE with! It is so beautiful and has the most amazing shape to it.
As you can see it has an open back with a mermaid-like train to it that you can hold or have floating behind you. If anyone is planning on getting married on a beach or in a tropical location – I totally recommend trying on this!
I met Tanya (pictured on the left) and she is such a lovely woman with some seriously cool collections!
Check out her website here.


And that summarises what I did at the 2016 iD Fashion Show in Dunedin!
A huge thank you to everyone that supported me, Christal for providing me with such an opportunity, and Revlon for providing me with the products I needed to work with.

Also a massive thank you to the models that I had the pleasure of working with! You are all so beautiful – thank you for letting me have your picture and use it for this/my make up portfolio.


If any one has any questions about events/backstage then feel free to comment down below or email me and I will get back to you.

Let me know what you think of the make up looks we did!

P.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “iD Fashion Week 2016

Leave a comment